Naked Down the Driveway

The moment has finally come, ladies and gents. You remember how I am always complaining that my little reader boys only want to hear about sharks and firefighters and dinos?  Not that I dislike sharks and firefighters and dinos, but at this point I am full to the gills with Level 1 information about those riveting topics (“The Fireman rings a bell to alert the other Firefighters. DING DING DING!” Etc.) But today, by some miraculous twist of fate, my punky little first grader wanted to read a PINK COVERED, SPARKLE-DRENCHED, super girly book:

“Fancy Nancy and the Posh Puppy.” Highly recommend it, by the way. That Nancy is quite the character. Apparently he thought so too, because next he chose “Fancy Nancy and the Pirate Party,” a gripping saga about sibling rivalry, pirate-themed festivities, and rhinestone necklaces. We ran out of reading time at a real cliff-hanger, too- will Nancy be a good, kind, mature older sister and give her lil’ sis the prized fake jewels for her birthday? The suspense is killing me.

My kindergartener (who is currently missing his two front teeth, which makes him so adorable he’s hard to look at sometimes) chose a very special book to read this time, called “No, David.” He prefaced the reading by informing me that there was a very funny picture in it that I just had to see.  The book goes into great detail about all the misadventures of the mischievous David, who plays with his food (“No David!”), pulls his cat’s tail (“No, David, No!”) and apparently runs down the driveway naked after a bath:

My little guy cackled demonically when we finally arrived at the above scandalous illustration and wanted to show it off to all the other readers. I bet he’s one of those “Disruptive in class” labeled kids. When I asked him what he wants to be when he grows up, he thought about it long and hard furrowing his tiny brow. Considering the amount of time he took with his response, I was expecting something hardcore: doctor, scientist, CEO of a multinational corporation… He’s smart as a whip, and seems ambitious and confident, but…

Nope. Racecar driver. Sigh.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. JungFitzpatrick
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 18:57:34

    Lovely Nicole, I love this post. You are a vivid writer. Keep it up! And don’t forget to call me ;) xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

